品格教育

重點學校的品德教育意味著什麼
重點學校的目標之一是培養有品格的公民。 我們希望所有的學生獲得做正確的事所必需的信念,情感智慧和行為,這僅僅是因為它是對的。 為此,我們讓學生,教職員工和家長參與了一項積極的品格教育計劃,其中包括“品格搖滾”(學生開展的一項活動),“家長學院”(有關品格教育主題的演講者和材料)以及一些學校活動。

我們提倡四個角色特質

  • 尊重
  • 責任
  • 誠信
  • 仁慈

全年進行性格教育活動–在學校和家庭中

現在發生了什麼事

重點學校品德教育委員會選擇“共情”作為2013-2014年的主題。 移情是我們重點學校著重於性格特徵的基本要素: 尊重,責任,守信, 及 仁慈。 全年觀看有關共情的教育材料,以及作為父母的您如何幫助孩子培養共情。

什麼是同理心? 請點擊 這裡 為您的孩子解釋這個概念。 恩 西班牙語。 建立同理心? 請點擊 這裡 有關如何向您的孩子傳授移情技巧的更多信息。 恩 西班牙語.

移情在行動? 請點擊 這裡 閱讀兩個故事,突出表明對他人同情的重要性。 恩 西班牙語.
品格教育委員會贊助了一項 命名走廊比賽。 有興趣的學生可以參加並幫助給我們的走廊名稱反映角色教育主題。一年一度的活動與成年人所說的相比,兒童通常更注意自己所看到的。 向孩子展示家人中“角色是關鍵”。樹立好榜樣。

  • 強調您的家人和朋友圈中良好品格的重要性。
  • 承認錯誤並尋求糾正。
  • 鼓勵您的孩子也這樣做。
  • 建立明確的規則並​​施加公正的後果。
  • 當孩子做正確的事時要稱讚他們。
  • 您所在社區的志願者。
  • 表明你在乎。

全年檢查一次。 有關更多角色資源,請瀏覽Key網站上的Character Education部分,然後前往位於Key的多用途室的走廊上的Character Education佈告欄。 家長也可以從阿靈頓公立學校家長學院研討會中受益。

Character Education

What Character Education Means at Key School
One of Key School’s goals is to develop civic-minded students of high character. We want all students to acquire the beliefs, emotional intelligence, and behaviors necessary to do what is right simply because it is right. To that end, we involve students, staff, and parents in an active Character Education program that includes Character Rocks (a student run activity), Parent Institutes (speakers and materials on character education topics), and several in-school activities. 

We Promote Four Character Traits

Character Education Activities Throughout the Year – At School and At Home

What’s Happening Now 

The Key School Character Education committee has chosen Empathy to be our theme for 2013-2014. Empathy is the fundamental building block to the character traits we focus on at Key School: Respect, Responsibility, Trustworthiness, and Kindness. Watch for educational materials throughout the year on what is empathy and how you as parents can help to foster empathy in your children.

What is Empathy? Click here for a way of explaining the concept to your child. En español. Building Empathy? Click here for more information on how to teach empathy skills to your child. En español.  

Empathy in Action? Click here to read two stories that highlight the importance of demonstrating empathy toward others.  En español.
The Character Education committee is sponsoring a Name the Hallway contest. Interested students can participate and help give our hallways names that reflect character education themes.Year-Long ActivitiesChildren often pay more attention to what they see than what adults say. Show your children that “Character is Key” in your family.Set a Good Example.

  • Emphasize the importance of good character within your family and circle of friends.
  • Admit mistakes and seek to correct them.
  • Encourage your children to do the same.
  • Establish clear rules and impose fair consequences.
  • Praise your children when they do the right thing.
  • Volunteer in your community.
  • Show that you care.

Check back throughout the year. For more character resources, explore the Character Education portion of the Key Web site and stop by the Character Education bulletin board, located in the hallway on the way to Key’s Multipurpose Room. Parents may also benefit from Arlington Public School Parent Academy Workshops. For more information, click here.

Character Education at Key Brochure

Download Character is Key – in English

Download Character is Key – in Spanish